Vegan Spelt Chocolate Cupcakes

vegan chocolate cupcakes

These cupcakes are vegan and made with spelt flour. They are easy-to-make and would be great topped with a vegan buttercream.

vegan chocolate cupcakes2

Vegan Spelt Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 and 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cups spelt flour
  • 2 and 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Instructions

1. Turn oven to 350 F.

2. Mix milk, sugar, oil, vinegar and vanilla until well-combined.

3. Add flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt and stir until smooth.

4. Pour into greased (or paper-lined) cupcake tins. Cook for 20-22 minutes. Let cool for 3 minutes in tin, then remove to wire rack.

Notes

Makes 6 cupcakes.

Adapted from this recipe at Oh She Glows.

2 comments

  1. I made these today , and they turned out great! I doubled up the quantities and found that I needed to use 2 cups of spelt flour. Other changes I made ( Gosh, I actually reinvented the recipe by the looks of things) I used Coconut milk- not the type from a can, but the drinkable variety from a carton. For the oil, I used half sunflower and half coconut. The mistake I made here was not melting the coconut oil first. Having said that , I don’t think it made a difference to the final product, it just meant it was lumpy when I was mixing it. And continuing the Coco theme, I used coconut vinegar, a product I found in the world food aisle of a major supermarket which is probably available in Asian supermarkets too. I will return to this recipe many time, using different toppings to ring the changes.

  2. These look so delicious! I’ve never baked with spelt flour but really want to try it. Now I have a recipe to start with!

Share your thoughts!